West Essex Cricket Club

Together Through This Test Negative.png



West Essex Cricket Club was formed in 1921, are members of The Hamro Foundation Essex League and are also affiliated to the Metropolitan Essex District Cricket Board and Essex County Cricket Board. 


Our season runs from the end of April to September. We run 4 sides on Saturdays in the  Essex League so we can offer cricket at all levels for both high quality players and those that just want to enjoy a game of cricket at the weekend.


We are a friendly , inclusive & diverse club with an open membership policy that was granted Community Amateur Sports Club status in 2014. We are a club of volunteers whether that be coaching juniors, rolling wickets or painting changing rooms and encourage all members to find ways other than playing to contribute to the club. We have an active social scene and welcome all members to attend our regular social events.


All sides play home games at The Rolls Sports Ground in Highams Park where we have 2 cricket grounds adjoining our main clubhouse and private bar.


We run an active and growing Junior section which has over 70 members from the age of 8 up to 15. The Junior section practice on Thursday nights and play fixtures every Sunday morning throughout the Summer. We currently have 7 ECB qualified coaches and are currently working towards gaining ECB Clubmark accreditation. The Junior section also play 6-A-Side indoor cricket during the Winter. with indoor coaching offered from January to April.


In 2017 we expanded our junior section to include 5 to 8 year olds by participating in the ECB AllStarsCricket programme. Sessions are run on a Saturday morning with registrations open from February to  April for each year's programme. In 2021 we added the Dynamo Cricket programme to our offer which is for 8 - 11 year old beginners and girls.



Club Officers and Committee Members for 2022


· Cricket Chairman: Mo Zahour

· Treasurer/Secretary: Colin Baxter

· Fixture Secretary: Sri Gunersekeran

· Management Committee representative: Mo Zahour

· Club Safeguarding Officer: Colin Baxter

· Essex League representative: Colin Baxter

· 1st X1 Captain: Nico Akhtar

· 2nd X1 Captain: Rajesh Kanojia:

· 3rd X1 Captain: Kamran Ashraf

· 4th X1 Captain: Aron Nassim

· NCL club contact: Ashfaq Alam

· Adult indoor contact: Mo Zahoor

· Youth cricket Committee representative: Aron Nassim

. Women and Girls Committee representative : Lyndsey Nassim

· Website administrator: Ashley Baxter

· Social Media Coordinator: Anuj Jain